did they play the dishes game?

being the youngest in my family, coming upon “new” challenges, i sometimes think of my elder siblings and wonder just what they did when the same challenge was new to them.

today alex’s mom plans on stopping by to drop some things off. she calls and sets the plan with alex. as soon as he is off the phone and the visit comes to my attention:

“let’s clean up!” i say, my brain already scanning the apartment like it is a roladex, flipping through chores for the most efficient way to make the entire place seem in good order – thinking of appearances.

i love how quickly the brain tabulates. look at this fabulous list:

laundry! into drawers…
dishes! clean & leave sink sparkly
loose odds & ends: make look orderly OR put in drawer!

alex says: i don’t wanna clean up.

hmmm… my sister is off the hook – i mean, she and her partner never have an unkempt house, but, even if they did, they are not in drop-by range of any parental units.

my brother and his family live a few blocks away from my parents…. did they play the dishes game? maybe, maybe… but then, after a few years, or with the continual addition of family members and pets to the household, i think a clear sink for company became less of a priority.

anyway, i don’t have time for this post – alex is already up, a spray bottle of disinfectant in hand, a roll of paper towels under arm, making shining surfaces in the bathroom. as for me, i’m on my way to the kitchen to play the dishes game…

About scribblelip

walking down the road with a book of conjugations in my hand.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to did they play the dishes game?

  1. Liora says:

    I still do the dishes when a drop-by is iminent… and i know Michael’s mother still thinks i’m not much of a housekeeper. But I make up for it with my sparkling personality! :)

  2. scribblelip says:

    I find it really humorous how ingenious I feel when, during the visit, I think to do something really, really special: “Can I get you something to drink?”

    ::sigh:: I do try…

  3. Liora says:

    I’m laughing very hard… because I know the feeling!

Leave a Reply

