all of my loves, bring them to one place

you, whom i have loved – you who, knowing or unknowing, loved me somehow –
in some moment of curiosity, in some moment forgetting i was not the woman you were really looking for,
in some moment of realization – dancing, tipping a beer back, looking around & seeing something for a moment you recognized before you remembered i was still a stranger to you –

oh grandparents, buried and living – oh parents still becoming to me who you are – oh sisters and brothers my face like yours, my nights in the dark thinking in the same mind-twisted ways we have been given by our ancestry – those twists, those twists…

you whom i have loved, all of my loves – god, bring them to one place –

let me cook what i know how to cook, let me pour out glasses of sweet juice and open the faucet to give water to every cup, refreshing –

let me send my whole heart across the scraping sand, let me send my whole heart across the deciduous, the rasping leaves & twigs, let me send my whole heart wrapped in whale skin through the seas –

i will arrive, if you will arrive. i will bring to you what you have brought to me – loves, my loves – i will open my chest and demand of you that you look, that you find the gift you left there, remember its beauty again.

dance and turn, men and women – let the light change around us – let us have hope for the generations we have become, let us have hope for the generations we give blood and breath to – let us make – again – love.

About scribblelip

walking down the road with a book of conjugations in my hand.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

