dispersion

if this were it – truly a trek across antarctica, for example, i would make peace with the distances —

the distance between myself, on decatur street and my brother, his wife and three kids, in houston, texas;

the distance between myself, on decatur street, and my best friend, about to give birth to twins in ruther glen, virginia;

the distance between myself, on decatur street, and my sister and her wife, and my many old friends in charlottesville, virginia;

the distance between myself, on decatur street, and myself on mason avenue who knew how to talk to my parents;

the distance between myself, on decatur street today

and myself on decatur street a few days ago,…
who could have called to describe
the exercises
of a flock
of small black birds,

perching in and then flying from
the tree behind the library,

only to take off eventually,
joining several other flocks far off,
over the river, beside the plant
that gives off gray smoke
and occasionally lets off
a sneeze, like a congested train.

once the flock was en masse,
i wanted to tell you,
it moved, for a minute or so,
like an integrated whole.

it looked like a thing
that made sense,
had form, before breaking apart again –

so that i wondered if,
even in appearing to break apart,
had my perspective only been broader,
i might have realized

there was form in dispersion still.

About scribblelip

walking down the road with a book of conjugations in my hand.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

